The Number 2

A few weeks ago I wrote an article about being incomprehensible but I was mistaken. I’m not incomprehensible because I am two opposites; I’m dual.

From the moment I heard about dualism I was in love with the idea. A combination of mind and body that explained life and death. And though from that time my beliefs and understanding of life and death as well as beliefs and understanding about dualism have changed I am still very much attracted to the concept. For me, dualism is the coexistence of two things that are opposites or fundamentally different. Using Descartes original argument the mind and body, two things that are fundamentally different yet appearing to coexist, dependent on each other. The way I see it, all of life is this way. Full of things and there exact opposites existing together in a constant balancing act, light and dark, joy and pain, sleep and wakefulness, good and evil; all that stuff. And the opposites are necessary, they give it purpose. As 50 Cent once said “joy wouldn’t feel so good if it wasn’t for pain”. Sorry to quote Fiddy but I can’t think of anyone else who said it so concisely. 

Love wouldn’t be so sweet if loneliness wasn’t so bitter. Maybe there’s a reason opposites attract they need each other.

AH! I just remembered The Joker’s dialogue towards the end of The Dark Knight is somewhat related to it, so there. ” I think you and I are destined to do this forever” “This is what happens when an unstoppable force meets an immovable object.”

P.s check out this song, these guys are amazing. The Number

Image

Comments?

