Love Me (As If)

A way-back Wednesday poem, written years ago while I was in Italy with my mother. Will appear on “Book of Mars.”

Every night I wish

You’d love me as if

I was the one

You dreamed to be with.

We could plunge deeper in love

With every kiss.

Love me as if

I was your bed at the end of a long day.

As if I was a ray of sunlight

Bursting through your sky of grey.

Love me as if

I was your favourite song,

Or your favourite place;

Where you belong.

Love me as if

I was your child,

The cause of your laughter

And breath-taking smile.

Love me as if

I was the last day of school.

Or a warm summer’s day

Spent by the pool.

Love me as if

It were a law of nature.

Let me feed your soul,

Be your refrigerator.

Love me as if

I were the perfect word.

As if I were a rhinoceros

And you, an oxpecker bird.

Love me like

The sky loves the stars,

Like the night loves the day;

An unending reservoir.

Love me as if nothing

Could ever come in between.

They say love is a drug,

Let our high never wean.

Love me as if

I was to you what you are to me.

Because that’s the only thing

I desire to be.

If I had one wish

It would be this,

For you to love me

As if…

Comments?

