Ripples

I still have to hold my breath just to get out your name,

I choke up a little when I hear it.

Some people toss your name around

as if the letters weren’t taboo,

dropping it calmly as a bomb

while our memories pass me by like earthquakes.

Sometimes

I’ll miss you for no reason at all,

like a drunk

a thought of you stumbles to my attention.

Rambling on about the nights we spent together,

in love,

in each other’s company.

It makes me feel weak to think of you,

to miss you,

to want you back after all the scars we’ve exchanged

and time that has passed.

It makes me feel weak to think of you,

to miss you,

to remember a tiny detail of some conversation we had

when your words were like breath to me.

Your name strikes my eardrum like

a shot,

like vodka spilling down my throat.

Like a rock crashing through the surface of a lake,

I am a victim of gravity.

I hate that just the thought of you

makes an acute sadness

shoot through my body.

It echoes

it ripples,

but the waves never reach you.

4 thoughts on “Ripples

Comments?

